Is Theresa May out to stop Brexit?

At Patriactionary, a good piece on the question of British Prime Minister Theresa May’s motives in calling the upcoming early election. Is she attempting to stop Brexit from being finally implemented? The ensuing comments on the blog piece are worth reading too; it seems that the majority are at least skeptical of May’s motives, while a commenter or two disagree, thinking her motives are benign or neutral at least.

Granted, I’m an observer from afar, and I don’t claim to be fully up-to-speed on the British political scene; I believe few outsiders can see things through the eyes of those who are born and bred there, and it’s a little presumptuous for an outsider to try to form real convictions. However I do try to be somewhat informed, and I do have a sort of gut-level sense about May. I just simply distrust her based on what I’ve seen, as I’ve indicated here on this blog. (In fact I was told in a comment that I was too hard on women, or on women leaders. Maybe so, but some of the commenters at Patriactionary expressed similar ideas.)

I have certainly heard and seen comments from pro-Brexit people who live in Britain, or who are British expats, that they are suspicious of her reasons for calling this election. Like some of those skeptics, I believe May, like virtually all Western political figures, is simply a ‘hireling’ of the globalist powers-that-be, and of course TPTB plainly do not want Brexit to be implemented. However I’m not prepared to say that the Brexit vote will be overturned; I don’t see that as being a certainty — or at least I hope it is not. I hope that the pro-Brexit voters are determined enough to turn out in great numbers to ensure that the ‘Remainers’ don’t have their way. Of course the real cynic would say that elections are generally rigged in favor of the globalist status quo, and that votes don’t matter. But to take that for granted is to ensure that the ‘elites’ always win.

The Patriactionary piece ends thus:

“Time will tell, perhaps, whether May is betraying the British people the way Trump has betrayed reactionaries.”

The optimist or the true believer in Trump would say that he hasn’t betrayed reactionaries (or the ‘alt-right’, or his base) though some of us see it otherwise; the ‘will to believe’ is very strong with some people and they will often go through some very complicated rationalizations to be able to maintain their belief in a leader. That often has bad consequences when the object of the believer’s faith proves to have deceived them. However I don’t think that Theresa May, unlike Trump, has such a devoted group of followers who trust her blindly. A little healthy skepticism is called for.

Leave a Reply

